School Leadership

Head of School Than HealyHead of School

Than Healy became Menlo’s Head of School in July of 2013. 

After graduating from Williams College, Than began his career in education at the Stevenson School in Pebble Beach, CA, where he taught history and psychology and served in a number of roles in the life of the school. Continuing his collegiate athletic career, Than coached basketball and water polo and directed the summer athletic program. Stevenson honored Than with the McNeely Chair for Outstanding Educator; he was the youngest faculty member to earn this recognition.

In 1995, Than took a yearlong hiatus from education to play professional basketball in Frankfurt, Germany. He then returned to teach at his own high school, Punahou School in Honolulu, HI. In 2001, he earned an MA in Educational Administration with a focus on private school leadership from the Klingenstein Center at Teachers College, Columbia University.

Most recently, Than served as the Assistant Head of School (appointed in 2005) and the Upper School Director (appointed in 2001) at the Lakeside School in Seattle, WA. 

Board of Trustees

The Menlo School Board of Trustees is the guardian of the School’s mission. It is the Board’s responsibility to ensure that the mission is appropriate, relevant and vital to the community. The Board of Trustees is currently comprised of 26 individuals, elected for two three-year terms, and five ex officio members, all of whom monitor the success of the School in fulfilling its mission. Each Board member participates in and supports the mission of the School and serves on at least one of the Board’s committees: Buildings and Grounds, Development, Communications, Executive, Finance, Investment and Leadership.

2016-2017 Board Membership
Rob Chandra, Chair Purvi Kunwar
Nicole Rubin, Vice Chair Antonio Lopez
Jennifer Ayer Jill Parker
Rey Banatao ’91 Gary Pinkus
Ben Bisconti Jake Reynolds
Laura Chan Nkia Richardson
Jonathan Coslet Serra Simbeck
Chris Dressel Brad Smith
Amy Hsieh Mark Stevens
Maria Frantz Scott Taylor
Earl Fry Casey Tunguz ’02
Mark Gates Michael Uytengsu ’85
Greg Golub ’90 Fred Wang
Alicia Hammarskjold Brenda Woodson
Aaref Hilaly Steve Young


Than Healy, Head of School, ex officio
Angie Ball, MSPA Co-President for Middle School, ex officio
Elizabeth Dumanian, MSPA Co-President for Upper School, ex officio
Olivia Main Ward ’86, Alumni Association President, ex officio
Nicole Rubin, Secretary, ex officio
Bill Silver, CFO, ex officio

Senior Administrators

Beth Bishop, Admissions Director
Angela Birts, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
La Vina Lowery, Middle School Director
Tony Lapolla, Dean of Students
Bridgett Longust, Dean of Teaching and Learning
Steven Minning, Creative Arts Director
Alex Perez, Director of Communications
John Schafer, Upper School Director
Bill Silver, Chief Financial Officer
Eric Spross, Director of Technology
Mima Takemoto, Middle School Assistant Director
Alex Tenorio, Chief Development Officer
Kris Weems, Upper School Athletic Director