Menlo School

School Leadership

Head of School

Than Healy became Head of School in July 2013.

After graduating from Williams College, Than began his career in education at the Stevenson School in Pebble Beach, CA, where he taught history and psychology and served in a number of roles in the life of the school. Continuing his collegiate athletic career, Than coached basketball and water polo and directed the summer athletic program. Stevenson honored Than with the McNeely Chair for Outstanding Educator; he was the youngest faculty member to earn this recognition.

In 1995, Than took a yearlong hiatus from education to play professional basketball in Frankfurt, Germany. He then returned to teach at his own high school, Punahou School in Honolulu, HI. In 2001, he earned an MA in Educational Administration with a focus on private school leadership from the Klingenstein Center at Teachers College, Columbia University.

Most recently, Than served as the Assistant Head of School (appointed in 2005) and the Upper School Director (appointed in 2001) at the Lakeside School in Seattle, WA.

Head of School Than Healy

Board of Trustees

The Menlo School Board of Trustees is the guardian of the School’s mission.

The Board is responsible for ensuring that the mission is appropriate, relevant, and vital to the community. The Board of Trustees is currently comprised of 22 individuals, elected for two three-year terms, and six ex officio members, all of whom monitor the success of the School in fulfilling its mission. Each Board member participates in and supports the mission of the School and serves on at least one of the Board’s committees: Advancement, Audit, Buildings and Grounds, EDIB, Executive, Finance/Investment, Governance, and Life of the School.

2023-2024 Board Membership

Karen King, Chair
Sameer Dholakia, Vice Chair
Omar Aguilar
Damaris Avila
Stacey Bishop
Edrienne Brandon
Bruce Burkard ’86
Grady Burnett
Phil Deutch
Abby Durban
April House
Lara Housser
Stephanie Jackson
Linda Wythes Knoll ’89
Jon Levin
Steve Miller ’87

Jennifer Mulloy
Christy Richardson
Dipender Saluja
Jory Steele
Nikhil Basu Trivedi ’07
Jervis Williams ’83
Dennis Yang
Margaret Beltramo, emerita
Ned Spieker ’62, emeritus

Ex Officio Members:
Than Healy, Head of School
Bill Silver, Chief Financial Officer
Priyanka Goel Chandrasekar ’03, Alumni Board President
Laura Dholakia, 2023-2024 MSPA Co-President, Middle School
Reema Shah, 2023-2024 MSPA Co-President, Upper School


Senior Administrators

Carla Diez-Canseco, Director of Human Resources
Adam Gelb, Upper School Assistant Director
Maren Jinnett, Director of Academic Innovation
Earl Koberlein, Director of Athletics
Bridgett Longust, Dean of Teaching and Learning
La Vina Lowery, Middle School Director
Shayne Olson, Director of Communications

John Schafer, Upper School Director
Mike Kulbieda,  Director of Technology
Bill Silver, Chief  Financial Officer
Mima Takemoto, Middle School Assistant Director
Brooke Wilson, Director of Admissions and Financial Aid
Casey Wynn, Director of Development

Content from previous site pages, can be copied into new design as needed